Nor’easter!

I don’t usually get excited about snow but this storm was something else.   Mother Nature thought enough of Downeast Maine to drop a foot or more of snow just in time for Christmas. 

But it wasn’t the amount of snow that has me sitting at my computer this morning, it was the wind.  Granted, Eastport sits seven miles off the mainland and bitter winds are the hardest part of winter here.  

But never in my life have I felt the force of the wind so strongly inside my house.

  This kind of wind doesn’t howl; it shrieks down streets and through alley ways.  The windows were shaking and rattling and I was in fear for my roof.  The bed was literally shaking (and at times I was shaking too!)

The waves, according to the weather reports, were 21 feet and I couldn’t doubt it as I stood in awe and watched the water in my toilet suck in and out of the bowl and thought, “this can’t be normal”. 

I’m not sure how many people would actually admit to staring into their toilet bowl, but if you live in Eastport and did take a gander, you know I speak the truth.

When you’re talking that kind of wind, snow drifts are inevitable.  The front of my car was buried under a four foot, ice encrusted drift.

storm-001 

 

 

                                                                         

My fearless terrier supervised while I dug what felt like a tunnel out my front door  then we headed downtown to see how the rest of Eastport was faring after Mother Nature took her frustrations out on us.

storm-002                                           

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 These sea walls range from 3 - 4 feet tall 

These sea walls range from 3 – 4 feet tall

      I receive a fair number of emails asking what winter is like in Eastport.  While this isn’t the norm, this is what you can expect from time to time, just like any other New England town.     

So for those of you who have written to ask, has this answered your questions?

4 responses to “Nor’easter!

  1. So on the Gulf Coast they arrive in the summer/fall and we call them hurricanes, but in Eastport they arrive in the winter and are called Nor’easter. Wow, because what you describe sure sounds like Ike – the waves, the wind, the house shuddering.

    The photos of the snow are beautiful. You said waves of 21 feet – was there any flooding or is the town raised higher.

    Hope you’re staying warm!

    • Hi Shelly and thanks for commenting. I have to say the storm I wrote about was the scariest I have experienced. I cannot imagine being in something like Ike.
      We have seawalls and rock face which stop most
      of the waves. My house isn’t much above sea level but many of the houses are perched high above the ocean. The waves would have to be much higher to reach us, thankfully.
      The rest of our winter has been quiet, but then again, it’s only January!

  2. Looks like another storm is coming, just not as intense as the nor’easter. I love winter storms. But then I like the first signs of spring too.

Leave a Reply

