Shackford Head State Park (Eastport, Maine)

Shackford Head State Park in Eastport, Maine, has six trails for beginner to intermediate hikers but each trail offers spectacular vistas of pebble beaches, islands, coves and cliffs. 

Sighting seals, bald eagles, osprey and herons are common occurences.  The salt air mingles with the scent of balsam while blueberries and strawberries grow wild amongst the woodland flowers. 

The park is free to all and open 365 days a year (although getting through the trails might be tough in the winter!).  Please note there are no camping sites at Shackford Head. 

In case that doesn’t entice you, here are some photographs of my last outing at Shackford Head:

 

 

 

 

Shackford Head State Park is located on Deep Cove Road in Eastport Maine

6 responses to “Shackford Head State Park (Eastport, Maine)

  1. Pingback: “Stay-cation” - Eastport, Maine « Living Downeast

  2. Samantha Dudley

    I grew up in Eastport and I have several memories of hiking through Shackford head before there were trails and after. I am planning another trip there very soon with my family, it’s been years since I have been there but I am looking forward to sharing it with my family.

  3. One of my favorite places in the world. There have been a lot of improvements including a bridge and split log bridges over some of the swampy areas. The scenery is unmatched with beautiful views of the ocean at every turn in the trail. My daughters and I have spent many hours hiking through this peaceful haven.

    Eric Pendleton

  4. Great post, thanks for sharing information about this beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

