One in a Million

Update:  I found out on April 7, 2010 that the blue lobster is headed back to Quoddy Bay Lobster and will be residing in one of their tanks, so be sure to check him out if you happen to be in the neighborhood.

I’ve been ridiculously neglectful as of late.  Since being laid off from my job, I’ve returned to school full time and am loving it, although it keeps me very, very busy.

Anyway, the other morning while walking my naughty little terrier, one of the lobstermen wanted to show me what they’d pulled out of a trap the previous day. 

lobster 001

Blue lobster

lobster 003

Isn't he gorgeous?

Blue lobsters are very rare indeed; supposedly one out of every million is blue due to a genetic mutation involving a complicated explanation about various proteins. 

It’s actually the second blue lobster I’ve seen from the guys at Quoddy Bay Lobster here in Eastport, but this one is so brilliant, I had to share him with you.

This little guy is going to live out his days in an aquarium somewhere yet to be determined.  And in case you’re wondering, blue lobsters don’t stay blue when cooked, so hang up your claw crackers and put the butter back in the fridge!

lobster 002

10 responses to “One in a Million

  1. I am glad he will live out his days in an aquarium instead of being eaten. He is soooooo beautiful and unusual looking.

  2. Isn’t he gorgeous? Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Wish I could lose my blues
    Just by shedding my shell
    Wish I could shoot’em off my head
    Just like one William Tell
    What used to be merely gossip
    Is now front page news
    We’re all just genetic mutations
    Crawling from primordial ooze

  4. Geez, Louise! I’d love to see one o’ dem babies!

  5. One I’d seen before was kind of a muddy blue, but this one is just such a brilliant color! Thanks for commenting~

  6. Just ordered lobsters from Southwest Harbor, ME to celebrate New Year’s in New York. They were great. But am glad this guy will never see the boiling pot. Amazing!

    http://www.ouracadia.com

  7. What a great way to celebrate the new year! I’m glad the little guy is safe and sound too. Thanks for commenting~

  8. i think these are always cool looking.

  9. Im hungry for lobster now…thanks…lol

Leave a Reply

